Home > Raiding > Situational Awareness (Part 1)

Situational Awareness (Part 1)

If you’re like me then anything more than ‘never’ is too often and is just putting more pressure on our healers and raid leaders.

I was involved in a guild run on Sunday night where we attempted Rotface for only the 2nd time. In this fight there are a number of mechanics you need to be aware of. I have sorted them into roles.

Kiting Tank:

  • Where is the Ooze flood? Where has it been?
  • Am I out of melee range of the Big Ooze?
  • Do I have Mutated Infection?
  • Where are all the small oozes?
  • Do I need to pick up another Big Ooze?

DPS

  • Do I have Mutated infection?
  • Where do I need to kite the small ooze?
  • Will the Slime Spray hit me?
  • Unstable Ooze Explosion. Run!

Healing/Cleansing

  • Do I have Mutated infection?
  • Who has Mutated Infection?
  • Where do I need to kite the small ooze?
  • Can we dispel Mutated Infection yet?
  • Will the Slime Spray hit me?
  • Which raiders are being hit by Slime Spray/Ooze flood?
  • Unstable Ooze Explosion. Run!
  • Is the kiting tank running through Ooze flood?
  • Who needs healing?
  • Who will need healing?

On top of that there are the usual things that will apply to almost any fight:

  • What is my threat?
  • Has anything Procced?
  • Are my Cooldowns ready?
  • Class specific etc.

Main Tank

  • Stand still, press buttons and use cooldowns 😛

You could easily do a similar breakdown for each fight. But I think you get the general idea. Healers have the hardest job and deserve the best loot 🙂

Okay, that may not have been what I meant. But feel free to think it 🙂

Back on track. If we look at the breakdown we can see there are a lot of different bits and pieces we need to be aware of. This will be the same for any fight. The mechanics may differ, but every raid boss requires situational awareness.

Instead of having to go through each boss fight and list everything, I have come up with the following broad areas that should (fingers crossed) cover them all.

  • Location. Where am I standing? Do I need to move?
  • Fight mechanics. What is happening next?
  • Buffs & Debuffs
  • Incoming damage and threat
  • Cooldowns/Procs
  • Healing

How do we stay aware of these things throughout the fight?

I could tell you how I keep an eye on everything, but that doesn’t mean they will work for you. So instead of telling you what to do, I’m going to cover the fundamentals and then run through some of the more popular options and how to set them up.

I will cover each one in a separate post, starting with UI design.

If you have anything you would like to add please do so in the comments below.

Categories: Raiding Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

